Talk Arcades: Forum for Arcade Webmasters    

  Talk Arcades > Arcades > Webmastering

Welcome to Talk Arcades, the premier forum for arcade webmasters.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest. By joining our community you will be able to make posts, communicate privately with other arcade webmasters and participate in our Live Marketplace. Registration is easy, so please join us today!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2007, 06:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
microjoes
Preferred Member
 
microjoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 160
microjoes is on a distinguished road


Default Bad robots

Has anyone had problems with the user agent BD Brand protect?
BD-Brandprotect | The leader in online threat protection

Their robot crawls one of my sites (not an arcade) all the time trolling for copyright material. I have blocked all the ip addresses associated with them in .htaccess (hopefully)

It is really irritating when robots don't obey the robots.txt file
The crawl rate is fast and lengthy..eating my bandwidth.
microjoes is offline  
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 09:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
brendgard
Gamer FX Staff
Senior Member
 
brendgard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 681
brendgard is on a distinguished road


Default

Don't think I've come across them myself, what do they give for a user agent?
__________________
http://gamersgo.com A list of arcade related sites, add yours.
http://auntiefondy.com Lists, add your site.
http://kbsplace.com
brendgard is offline  
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 03:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
RickyG
Moderator
Senior Member
 
RickyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Under Your Mouse!
Posts: 1,208
RickyG is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to RickyG Send a message via AIM to RickyG Send a message via MSN to RickyG Send a message via Yahoo to RickyG


Default

Try bannin in WHM/Cpanel
__________________

Arcade Banner Exchange, game packs, top site, arcade script and forum for all of your arcade needs http://www.mibbi.com
This site stinks!! www.farting.us

Coming soon MibbiJr!
RickyG is online now  
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 06:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
microjoes
Preferred Member
 
microjoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 160
microjoes is on a distinguished road


Default

I have banned them in cpan. At least all the ip addresses I could scavenge from whois data. The user agent is BD Brand Protect. A bunch of trolls
microjoes is offline  
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
RickyG
Moderator
Senior Member
 
RickyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Under Your Mouse!
Posts: 1,208
RickyG is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to RickyG Send a message via AIM to RickyG Send a message via MSN to RickyG Send a message via Yahoo to RickyG


Default

You can wild card it
172.23.4.*
__________________

Arcade Banner Exchange, game packs, top site, arcade script and forum for all of your arcade needs http://www.mibbi.com
This site stinks!! www.farting.us

Coming soon MibbiJr!
RickyG is online now  
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 07:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
microjoes
Preferred Member
 
microjoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 160
microjoes is on a distinguished road


Default

Hi Ricky,

That is a good idea. I did a network search on their bot ip addresses and blocked the 7 I found. They seemed to have stopped crawling. After some more research I found that they are searching for copyright material for clients and submit a DMCA on violators if they don't comply. The bastards can manually crawl my site if they want, their bots (3 or 4 at a time) were hitting my site pretty hard. Now error log shows them being denied. If they don't obey the robots file the get banned!
microjoes is offline  
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 07:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
RickyG
Moderator
Senior Member
 
RickyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Under Your Mouse!
Posts: 1,208
RickyG is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to RickyG Send a message via AIM to RickyG Send a message via MSN to RickyG Send a message via Yahoo to RickyG


Default

Try owning mssupport.net !

I still own it but took down the online community and just have 1 page wikipedi page. When I first had it many years ago, MS was all over it. Every page/folder for weeks. They didnt find anything and moved on.
RIckyG
__________________

Arcade Banner Exchange, game packs, top site, arcade script and forum for all of your arcade needs http://www.mibbi.com
This site stinks!! www.farting.us

Coming soon MibbiJr!
RickyG is online now  
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6
© TalkArcades.com
Forum - Register - Calendar - Memberlist - FAQ - Search