Talk Arcades: Forum for Arcade Webmasters    

  Talk Arcades > Community > Talk Arcades

Welcome to Talk Arcades, the premier forum for arcade webmasters.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest. By joining our community you will be able to make posts, communicate privately with other arcade webmasters and participate in our Live Marketplace. Registration is easy, so please join us today!

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2008, 12:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
netstorm
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 34
netstorm is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to netstorm


Default http://www.gamesbarrel.com/

My anti cheat software has caught gamesbarrel.com sending around 20-40 hits daily to my site which are all proxies in the same ip range, and blocked him every day. I have a 30% proxy buffer until ban for the day. Google analaytics shows no hits at all. Watch out for this.

Other sites he may own.

Girlgamesgalore.com
netstorm is offline  
Digg this Post!
Old 07-11-2008, 01:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
evilfurby
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Texas, US
Posts: 421
evilfurby is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to evilfurby


Default

Those sites belong to ArcadeSiteBuilder and I will wait to pass judgement because he has always been a straight shooter so far IMO.
evilfurby is offline  
Digg this Post!
Old 07-11-2008, 01:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
gamer99
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 574
gamer99 is on a distinguished road


Default

And plus its not his fault people access his site using proxies.
gamer99 is online now  
Digg this Post!
Old 07-11-2008, 02:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
ArcadeSiteBuilder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 211
ArcadeSiteBuilder is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ArcadeSiteBuilder


Default

DO WHAT? Netstorm, I am not doing anything with my link trading but straight up old fashioned seo link trading with all my sites. I do use a couple 200 * 200 banners to send additional traffic to manually selected sites to test how effective the ad spot is but I assure you my links to everyone from gamesbarrel and girlsgamesgalore are straight up legit.

I don't believe in cheating, and I don't believe in all these fancy advance send hits or drop off the site exchanges as they are just BAD seo in my opinion.

So it's bad that school kids using proxies visit my sites? How is that bad? I simply do not understand this idea!

If you would like not to trade links just drop me a PM or email and I will certainly remove your sites from mine no problem but I have not done anything other than trade links with you.

It would have been nice if you had issue with my sites to have dropped me a note BTW, I am not into public bashings.
__________________

ArcadeSiteBuilder is online now  
Digg this Post!
Old 07-11-2008, 02:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
ArcadeSiteBuilder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 211
ArcadeSiteBuilder is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ArcadeSiteBuilder


Default

P.S. Perhaps those hits are truly proxies ... but more than likely what you are seeing are hits from Search Engines spidering the links as Gamesbarrel is heavily spidered contantly by them,. it is after all the reason to trade links in the first place.
__________________

ArcadeSiteBuilder is online now  
Digg this Post!
Old 07-11-2008, 05:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
RickyG
Moderator
Senior Member
 
RickyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Under Your Mouse!
Posts: 1,124
RickyG is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to RickyG Send a message via AIM to RickyG Send a message via MSN to RickyG Send a message via Yahoo to RickyG


Default

netstorm, ASB is an honest and highly respected member of the arcade world. He is one of the few that i would give my user/pass to if I needed a site fixed! He is a leader against cheaters and flamers. I would go back and look again at what your saying and make sure you can back up your claim!!

Please post data here to back up your claim...........

To all...this is the danger of having an area for things like this. One post and a persons rep can be damaged. I am going to suggest that this area have the posts reviewed by a MOD before it is allowed on the forum. The next post could be about you......
RickyG
__________________

Arcade Banner Exchange, game packs, top site, arcade script and forum for all of your arcade needs http://www.mibbi.com

This site stinks!! www.farting.us
RickyG is online now  
Digg this Post!
Old 07-11-2008, 06:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
ArcadeSiteBuilder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 211
ArcadeSiteBuilder is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ArcadeSiteBuilder


Default

Thank you Ricky for the kind words but my sites are clean and will always stay that way. They speak for themselves.

The issue with type of stuff is someone like this guy who can post without any idea of damage that gets associated with post like this and then can't have the guts to defend his position on top of it!

Best I can figure this guy's site is http://www.zombiegames.us/ and of course I suggest anyone trading links with him might re-consider keeping it before they get falsely accused of scamming him too!

Anybody looking for good link trade partner come on and trade on the three sites I am growing with these days.

Gamesbarrel

Girlsgamesgalore
NutnButShootinggames

Link trade information for the sites are listed on the link submit pages. Thanks in advance and hope all our sites do well.

NetStorm if there are any more of your sites trading with me just let me know and I will make them inactive for you too... sorry you feel so bad about things.
__________________

ArcadeSiteBuilder is online now  
Digg this Post!
Old 07-11-2008, 07:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ryan1212
Preferred Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 160
Ryan1212 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Ryan1212 Send a message via MSN to Ryan1212


Default

dont worry too much ASB, I'm pretty sure anyone who has been here for awhile knows you can be trusted. I dont think something like this could hurt your rep at all unless 100% proof was posted. Your still perfectly fine in my book
Ryan1212 is offline  
Digg this Post!
Old 07-11-2008, 08:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
ArcadeSiteBuilder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 211
ArcadeSiteBuilder is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ArcadeSiteBuilder


Default

Ryan,

Not worried ... lots of people look at things and see wrong. Issue is just what RickyG talked about. Talk Arcade is well spidered and indexed and this kind of garbage gets listed in searches for sites and can have long term adverse affects as result.

But nice thing is I am getting some good link exchanges from the publicity with a few sites I had hoped to trade with.
__________________

ArcadeSiteBuilder is online now  
Digg this Post!
Old 07-11-2008, 09:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
piczogame
Arcade Freestyler
Senior Member
 
piczogame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,463
piczogame is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to piczogame


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by netstorm View Post
My anti cheat software has caught gamesbarrel.com sending around 20-40 hits daily to my site which are all proxies in the same ip range, and blocked him every day. I have a 30% proxy buffer until ban for the day. Google analaytics shows no hits at all. Watch out for this.

Other sites he may own.

Girlgamesgalore.com
Proxy sufers are always around weather it be users from a international country or someone trying to get through the system from work or school or even from home. So really you can't look at this in a bad point of view unless those proxy users have really effected your stats in a very bad way. Like say if they done a load of clicks on ads or left bad comments or damaged anything regarding your arcade/website.

I don't want to go one sided on this as i see both views in a prospective that your looking at this. If you do not wish to trade with this person thats fine just disconnect and move onto an other website but as far as i can see yet this isn't something to be posted on "Hall Of Shame".

This subforum as rickyg says does really effect a webmasters rep as this is the biggest arcade webmasters community around thats puplicly avalable. So anything that gets said in this forum needs to be backed up with alot of stats and good hard proof before you can really say whos bad and has to be rejected.

Alot of people know ArcadeSiteBuilder due to his rep and years in assiting webmasters also his trustedness to help a webmaster when in trouble. Now you properly diden't know it was him and maybe thinking you made a mistake making this topic or not. Whatever your views are just either keep them private or if there really bad then expose it.

Thanks for reading and thats my view on this topic. =3
piczogame is online now  
Digg this Post!
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6
© TalkArcades.com
Forum - Register - Calendar - Memberlist - FAQ - Search